top of page

 Title:               The Magic Door

 By:                  Michael Marcus

 Released in:   2007

 Format:          CD

 Catalog No:    MW 777-2

 Price :             12 EUR


1. The Magic Door [05:54]

2. Hey Pee Wee (for Pee Wee Russell) [04:22]

3. Blue Reality [04:38]

4. Sonic Corridors [06:02]

5. Abstractions in Lime Caverns [08:41]

6. One More Minute [06:17]

7. Morning Daffodil [08:18]

8. Circular Worlds, Sitting Lights [04:32]

9. Sunset Falling in the Mirrors [07:01]



Michael Marcus - Bb clarinet

Daniel Levin - cello (#1,4,9)

Rashaan Carter - bass (#2)

Francois Grillot - bass (#1,3,4,5,6,8,9)

Eric Rrevis - bass (#7)

Jay Rosen - drums (#1,2,3,4,5,6,8,9)

Newman Taylor Baker - drums (#7)




The sessions on The Magic Door took place in New York City, with Michael Marcus playing B-flat clarinet exclusively and leading a core trio completed by fellow Cosmosamatic Jay Rosen on drums and bassist Francois Grillot. Cellist Daniel Levin sits in on three cuts, including the title track, and his bow provides strained harmonies for the leader’s sweetly rounded tone. It’s also a pleasure to hear bassist Eric Revis (in tandem with drummer Newman Taylor Baker) outside of the Branford Marsalis Quartet on “Morning Daffodil”, dragging the tune just a little more than Grillot might. By handling composition, arrangement and production duties, as well as concentrating on only one horn in his repertoire, on the The Magic Door Marcus ensures that the artist alone has decided what you hear. 


(Jeff Stockton, AllAboutJazz)

bottom of page