Title:               Absolute Zero

 By:                  Jon Irabagon / Hernani Faustino / Gabriel Ferrandini

 Released in:   2013

 Format:          CD

 Catalog No:    MW 874-2

 Price :             12 EUR


1. States of Matter

2. Nova

3. Parallax

4. Cosmic Distance

5. Crust

6. Degrees of Freedom

7. Spacetime



Jon Irabagon - alto saxophone

Hernani Faustino - double bass

Gabriel Ferrandini - drums


Recording by Joaquim Monte at Namouche Studio, Lisbon 19th October 2009




Over the last few years, young saxist Jon Irabagon has been gaining more recognition with a number of fine discs as a leader, a collaborator (with Barry Altschul, Mary Halvorson, Dave Douglas & John Yao) or as a member of Mostly Other People Do the Killing. Since Mr Irabagon is one of the best and most ambitious saxists in NY, he is well-deserving of the accolades. Mr. Irabagon currently plays in several trios with Barry Altschul & Joe Fonda and Mick Barr & Mike Pride. Here is another formidable trio.

Both rhythm team members, Faustino & Hernani, can be found on two different Clean Feed discs with the RED Trio and the Nobuyosu Furuya Trio. This sounds like a fully improvised disc and it is pretty focused and amazing. Mr. Irabagon also plays tenor & soprano on occasion, concentrates on alto and sounds particularly inspired. This is a studio date and the sound is exceptional. The trio swirl tightly together casting off quick layers of lines. They move from explosive to restrained yet remain always focused and inspired. There is a section where Irabagon bends every note slightly for a long section, something that John Zorn and Jim Hobbs have mastered after a great deal of work and obviously no small feat. This year seems to be the year of Jon Irabagon and this disc is yet another feather in his large cap or headress.


- Bruce Lee Gallanter, Downtown Music Gallery